Vegetarian Hits & Misses

By jammmick [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

Swiss Chard! By jammmick [CC-BY-2.0 (http://creativecommons.org/
licenses/by/2.0)], via Wikimedia Commons

 My better half has complained that all he can find on the road is a vegetable plate. I don’t doubt that’s true. But I don’t think that’s what most vegetarians eat on a daily basis. In the summer a plate of tomatoes with mozzarella and basil can certainly make a great meal. But we’re still in the grasp of winter. We need food that is hot and sticks to your ribs.

This weekend I set out to prove that the vegetable plate is not our only option. And most of what I made was great! Not every recipe can be great one, meat or no meat. Here’s what we’ve eaten lately and what we would make again.

Friday night I made a great Broccoli, Cheese, and Wild Rice Casserole from smitten kitchen. It was hot, tasty, easy, and everyone loved it! I served it with a simple green salad. Highly recommend.

Saturday night we celebrated our anniversary with dinner at Bonefish Grill. I hadn’t had any fish since Lent began so I was glad to have the opportunity to enjoy some trout.

Sunday night I rolled out another new recipe. Let’s just say this one won’t be going into the dinner rotation. I had seen this recipe for Tortilla Espanola in the March 2014 issue of Cooking Light.  I chose it because it was a recipe tested by kids, they had rated it very highly, and since Cooking Light is one of my go-to sources for tasty, healthy recipes. We ate and were glad to have it. But, without putting too fine a point on it, it was gross. You can’t win ’em all.

I was hopeful I could redeem myself Tuesday with something tasty and this Healthy Mexican Casserole with Roasted Corn and Peppers from a pinch of yum was definitely a WIN! Yummy and hot, creamy and cheesy, it was perfect on a cold night. It was great Mexican food without being heavy or greasy. While my daughter did pick out all the peppers and assemble a tiny mountain of them to the side of the plate, she also ate it without complaint. It will make great leftovers too! The only thing I would change is the size. The recipe is for a 9×13 baking dish. When I make it again for our little tribe of three I will make two 8×8 pans and freeze one. Then we would have one set aside to eat later or to share with another family when we need to take a meal.

I’m planning to make some tomato soup later this week, but otherwise I think we’ll finish up the few leftovers we have from the last few meals. Sadly, I think the leftover Tortilla Espanola will languish in the back of the fridge unless I get desperate for lunch.

What have you made lately? Any hits? Misses? Where do you find the best new recipes to try?

Check out some other wins here. Use #40dayvegetarian to share your thoughts on Twitter and Facebook. You can also check out my other blog 3oclockproject.tumblr.com on tumblr!

Leave a Reply

